President Kenyatta Unveils New Structure of Government

Kenya’s 4th President Uhuru Kenyatta is sworn into office on April 9, 2013 in Nairobi as his wife Margaret looks on. PHOTO | NMG

Incoming President Uhuru Kenyatta of Kenya has today (Thursday) unveiled the structure of the government he will form. He has gone for a lean structure of 18 ministries despite the option of 22 allowed under the Constitution. The outgoing government had 44 ministries.

The official list of ministries and state departments that will form the National Executive are as follows:

Under the Presidency, there will the Executive Office of the President and the Executive Office of the Deputy President with two ministries:

1. Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government.

2. Ministry of Devolution and Planning.

Other ministries are:

3. Defence.

4. Foreign Affairs.

5. Education which will have the Department of Education and Department of Science and Technology.

6. The National Treasury.

7. Health.

8. Transport and Infrastructure which will have the Department of Transport Services and the Department of Infrastructure.

9. Environment, Water and Natural Resource.

10. Land, Housing and Urban Development.

11. Information, Communication and Technology (ICT) .

12. Sports, Culture and the Arts.

13. Labour, Social Security and Services.

14. Energy and Petroleum.

15. Agriculture, Livestock and Fisheries under which are the Department of Agriculture, Department of Livestock and Department of Fisheries.

16. Industrialization and Enterprise Development.

17. Commerce and Tourism which has the Department of Commerce and Department of Tourism.

18. Mining.

The structure also contains the Office of the Attorney-General and Department of Justice.

In the new structure, President Kenyatta has collapsed the ministries from 44 to 18. The reduced structure is geared towards achieving a lean, efficient and effective executive branch of Government.

Youth, gender, devolution, planning as well as national cohesion and integration have all been brought under the Presidency.

Also given special focus is mining which is now a stand-alone ministry. Information, Communication and Technology ministry as well as Sports, Culture and Arts are also stand-alone ministries.

Infrastructure ministries as well as national resources ministries have also largely been brought under the same roof.

Source: Africa Review